Skip to Content

bebe Review | Sexy Women’s Fashion

Reading Time: 5 minutes

Updated: 2/8/2024 | bebe Review

bebe fashion logo

Disclaimer: I received products from bebe to conduct this review. As always, all thoughts and opinions are mine and 100% honest.

 

About bebe

Bebe Stores, Inc. (pronounced bee bee) is a women’s retail brand that was established in 1976. The brand develops and produces a line of women’s apparel, accessories, and perfume fragrances, which it markets under the “bebe” or “Bebe Sport” or “Bebe Outlet” names.

The company was founded by Iranian-American businessman Manny Mashouf in 1976, when he opened the first bebe store in San Francisco during a time when three categories dominated the women’s wear market: junior, bridge, and misses.

The name “bebe” is derived from the soliloquy from Shakespeare’s play Hamlet in which the eponymous Prince ponders: “To be or not to be…” Founder Manny Mashouf came up with the name after a conversation at a party he attended in San Francisco during the 1970s, shortly before he established the brand.[citation needed] However, the company’s name was “Babe, Inc.” until it held its initial public offering in 1998.

Mashouf has owned approximately 55% of the company. It was announced in 2015 that Mashouf was to sell his 59% stake in bebe.

In 2014, a Telephone Consumer Protection Act class action lawsuit was filed against Bebe Stores, Inc. The plaintiff sought to certify a nationwide class consisting of all people who provided their cell phone numbers to bebe at one of its brick-and-mortar stores and subsequently received text messages from bebe at any point from January 2010 through the present (the Class Period was later certified to begin October 16, 2013, when governing law took effect).

In March 2017, bebe announced that it would close all stores in 2017, and become an online-only retailer.[11]

Bebe has partnered with Global Brands Group to keep its e-commerce and its international stores in operation since June 2017. A new lifestyle concept store was opened in New York City in March 2018.

Bebe stores headquarters in Brisbane. 

A bebe store at Aventura Mall in Aventura, Florida.

The company has operated 312 stores, of which 215 are bebe stores, 32 are 2b Bebe stores, 64 are BebeSport stores (this includes Bebe BebeSport 2-in-1 stores), and one is a Bebe accessories store. These are located in the United States, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Canada. Bebe also has international divisions in Lebanon, Kuwait, Egypt, Israel, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, Turkey, and UAE.

In 1976, the first store was launched on Polk Street in San Francisco as bebe. The company launched BebeSport in year 2003 to focus on active lifestyle by means of sportswear, tops, sweaters, outerwear, and accessories. In 2009, BebeSport stores were converted to PH8, with BebeSport product now sold in bebe and 2b Bebe stores. The company converted BebeSport stores to PH8 stores in November 2009. PH8 offers casual weekend apparel, work-out attire and accessories such as bags, shoes and seasonal items.[citation needed] Bebe’s outlet division 2b Bebe provided clearance merchandise, logo merchandise, and special cuts produced under the 2b Bebe label exclusively for the outlet stores.[16]

In 2012, bebe launched a bridal wear line which was available in stores throughout the United States. The line debuted with a collection designed by Project Runway runner up Rami Kashou. 

On April 21, 2017, bebe made an announcement that it would close its remaining 175 brick-and-mortar locations. The company anticipated a charge of approximately $20 million as a result of the store closures. The company said it expected to incur losses in sales with the closures but did not disclose the estimate.

In January 2019, bebe launched a revamped e-commerce platform and loyalty program developed by outsourced e-commerce company Branded Online.

Shop Our Favorites from bebe

 

bebe Review

When bebe reached out to me regarding a collaboration, I was over the moon! As an elder millennial, I grew up wearing bebe clothing in high school and eventually throughout college. This collaboration with them was very nostalgic for me.

To be honest, I haven’t worn bebe since my hardcore clubbing and ABG (Asian Baby Girl) days. They are known for flatting apparel that is perfect for a night out, clubbing, and trips to Las Vegas.

I was super excited to give them a try in my late 30s! For reference, I wear a size 8 or M-L in women’s US sizes. Let’s see how it went!

I received the following products from bebe to conduct this review:

bebe Pros

  • Affordably Priced – bebe apparel will run you anywhere between $50 to $300 a piece. I love shopping their sales for some amazing deals!
  • Runs True to Size (TTS) – We recommend going with your true size in Bebe apparel. If you’re in between sizes, we recommend sizing up for the best fit.
  • Many Styles and Colors
  • High Quality designs and fabrics.
  • Fast Shipping
  • Free Shipping on orders over $150
  • Free returns up to 21 days. Items must be with tags and in original condition.

bebe Cons

  • Fast fashion brand – Unfortunately they are considered a fast fashion brand because of their manufacturing process and quick turnaround on on-trend fashion.
  • No physical retail stores.

Should I Shop bebe?

I honestly loved my haul and expected not all my items to fit perfectly. I was able to return half of he things I purchased. 

Where to Shop for bebe

The best place to shop for bebe products is through their website

Use this link to save 20% off your first order at bebe.

Shop Our Favorites from bebe

 

You can also shop for Bebe apparel with the following authorized retailers:

If you found our BEBE review helpful, please share it with a friend who loves fashion. Thanks for your support!

Thank you for visiting today! If you found this encouraging or informative, please connect with us on Instagram or TikTok.

alex tran schimiggy signature

Sign up for our monthly newsletter for updates and more. We promise we won't spam you! Feel free to unsubscribe anytime.

If you're a brand and want to work with us, please visit this page to get in touch.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.